District Court

About the 26th Judicial District Court

The district court was created by the Constitution. It is here that the criminal and civil jury trials are held. Grant County has one judicial district, with three district judges, one magistrate judge, and an office of the clerk of the court where cases may be filed.

It is a trial court, with general original jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, including:

  • Care of the mentally ill
  • Conservatorships
  • Damage suits
  • Divorce and domestic relations
  • Guardianships
  • Juvenile matters
  • Probate and administration of estates
  • Small claims


Judges of the district court must be lawyers. The district magistrate judge may or may not be a lawyer and has limited jurisdiction. By state law, Grant County must have at least one resident judge.The state supreme court appoints a district judge as chief judge. The chief judge, in addition to his or her judicial responsibilities, has general control over the assignment of cases within the district and general supervisory authority over the clerical and administrative functions of the court.

Hon. Mike Winner
Magistrate Judge
Hon. Clint B. Peterson
Chief Judge
Hon. Bradley E. Ambrosier
District Court Judge
Hon. Linda P. Gilmore
District Court Judge