Grant County
Discover Grant County Kansas
Click to Home

Go To Search
District Court
About the 26th Judicial District Court
The district court was created by the Constitution. It is here that the criminal and civil jury trials are held. Grant County has one judicial district, with three district judges, one magistrate judge, and an office of the clerk of the court where cases may be filed.

It is a trial court, with general original jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, including:
  • Care of the mentally ill
  • Conservatorships
  • Damage suits
  • Divorce and domestic relations
  • Guardianships
  • Juvenile matters
  • Probate and administration of estates
  • Small claims

Local Court Rules for 2014

Judges of the district court must be lawyers. The district magistrate judge may or may not be a lawyer and has limited jurisdiction. By state law, Grant County must have at least one resident judge.The state supreme court appoints a district judge as chief  judge. The chief  judge, in addition to his or her judicial responsibilities, has general control over the assignment of cases within the district and general supervisory authority over the clerical and administrative functions of the court.

Name Title
Hon. Peggy Alford Magistrate Judge
Hon. Bradley E. Ambrosier Chief Judge
Hon. Clint B. Peterson District Court Judge
Hon. Linda P. Gilmore District Court Judge

Reid Borchetta
Clerk of the District Court

Marisa Koehn

Mary Nieto
Part-Time Deputy

Grant County Courthouse
Second Floor
108 S. Glenn
Ulysses, KS 67880

Ph: 620-356-1526
Fx: 620-353-2131

Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 12 p.m.
1 p.m. - 5 p.m.