View Other Items in this Archive | View All Archives | Printable Version

            The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:30 a.m. with all members and the County Clerk present.


            Carl Higgs made the motion to approve the minutes of the May 3, 2005 meeting and the claims against the various funds of the county. Marty Long seconded the motion. Following clarification of several vouchers motion passed unanimously.


            Gene Pflughoft, Economic Development Director, and Rod Kreie, Economic Development Board, attended the public forum portion of the meeting to inform the commissioners that the option to buy the old Duckwall Building is coming up and they wondered if the county would consider purchasing it or if Economic Development would buy it. No decision was made.


            Lance Babcock, Sheriff, met with the commissioners. Carl Higgs made the motion to recess into executive session for 5 minutes for the purpose of discussing non-elected personnel. Marty Long seconded the motion and it passed unanimously. After 5 minutes the meeting continued in open session.


            Airport Board Members, Harold DuPree and Tom Keaton, and Todd Hampton, City/County Building Official, presented conceptual plans for industrial development on county property at the airport. Mr. DuPree explained that Critical Care Transfer is interested in one of the proposed lots. Mr. Hampton explained that the entire platting process and zoning change has to be done before any lots can be sold. He explained that there is city water and sewer to part of the property; but it would have to be annexed in order for water and sewer to be extended to the remainder. Mr. Hampton suggested having Critical Care construct a building on county owned property nearer the terminal. They could lease the ground like the other businesses that have buildings on the property. This option would be less costly for the taxpayers than going through the platting, zoning and sewer and water involved with the other area. This option will be investigated further.


            Lorine Myers, Grant County Conservation District Manager, Leonard Wilson and Steve Johnson, Conservation District Board Members, presented a budget report and their 2006 budget request. Mrs. Myers explained that Grant County contributes significantly less than surrounding counties and other counties across the state. They asked for an increase to $27,000.00 from the county for next year. Their current appropriation is $23,500.00.


            Jerry Jo Deckert, Interim EMS Director, presented an update on her department. She reported that this is EMS Week and there are several activities going on all week. The Chamber of Commerce Coffee will be held at the ambulance station Friday morning and there will be an open house at the station on Saturday starting at 11:30 a.m.


            Fair Board Members, Dennis Deyoe and Daron Cowan, presented their 2006 budget request. It remains the same as this year. Mr. Deyoe said consideration should be given to repairing the rodeo bleachers and adding to them. The commissioners authorized the Fair Board to get cost estimates for the bleacher repair. Marty Long made the motion to appoint Terri Trotman as Fair Board Member replacing Christa Moyer who is moving. Carl Higgs seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.


            John Duran, Traffic Control Office, discussed the courthouse parking lot. He will work with various parking designs for the lot. Mr. Duran also discussed the possibility of putting “no parking” signs along Patterson Avenue for a short distance and opening a portion of a vacant area for parking during sports season.


            Carl Higgs made the motion to approve the purchase of 2 printers for the County Clerk’s office from Nex-Tech at a cost not to exceed $1,847.00 for a HP Color LaserJet printer and $3,663.00 for an IBM InfoPrint Laser Printer. The printers will be purchased through the Special Equipment Fund as was planned during 2005 budget preparation.


            Carl Higgs made the motion to adjourn the meeting. Marty Long seconded the motion and it passed unanimously.


Linda McHenry, County Clerk                                        Madison Traster, Chairman