View Other Items in this Archive | View All Archives | Printable Version

            The Board of County Commissioners met in special session at 9:00 a.m. in Hugoton, Kansas at Memorial Hall. All commissioners and the county clerk attended the meeting.


            The meeting was called to meet with commissioners from Morton, Stanton and Stevens County. Those in attendance were: Grant County Commissioners Marty Long, Carl Higgs, and Madison Traster; Morton County Commissioners Bob Boaldin, Allen Tucker, and Ron DeGarmo; Stanton County Commissioners John Smith, Shannon Dimitt, and Martie Floyd; and Stevens County Commissioners Gary Baker, Dave Bozone, and O.D. Littrell. Also attending were Pam Bensel, Stevens County Clerk and Linda McHenry, Grant County Clerk.


            All commissioners confirmed adoption of a resolution to enter into an interlocal agreement between the four counties.

The decision was made to proceed with organization of the four county consortium.


            Carl Higgs made the motion to nominate Madison Traster chairman for the organization. His motion was seconded and Mr. Traster was unanimously elected chairman.


            Ron DeGarmo made the motion to nominate Bob Boaldin vice-chairman for the organization. His motion was seconded and Mr. Boaldin was unanimously elected vice-chairman.


            Gary Baker made the motion to nominate Dave Bozone treasurer for the organization. His motion was seconded and Mr. Bozone was unanimously elected treasurer.


            Shannon Dimitt made the motion to nominate Martie Floyd secretary for the organization. His motion was seconded and Mr. Floyd was unanimously elected secretary. Linda McHenry, Grant County Clerk, agreed to record the minutes for the rest of the meeting.


            Regular meeting dates were discussed. It was decided that meetings would be held on the fourth Thursday of the month on a quarterly basis. It was understood that meetings would probably have to be held more often during the initial stage of the organization.


            Ron DeGarmo made the motion to designate Citizen’s State Bank of Hugoton as the official depository for the four county organization.  Motion was seconded and passed unanimously.


            Shannon Dimitt asked if election of officers should coincide with commissioner terms. Marty Long made the motion to change the election of officers from May to January in the Interlocal Agreement. Motion was seconded and passed unanimously.


            Discussion was held on funding for the four-county consortium. Madison Traster said it was his opinion that a certain amount of money could be committed by each county but kept in each county’s treasury until it was needed. There was discussion on using a mill or a portion of a mill as the basis for funding from each county or a dollar amount. The general consensus seemed to be that using a mill or a portion of a mill would be the better method. It was discussed that the mill would be committed every year and allowed to accumulate in order to provide adequate funds to accomplish the goals of the group.


            Bob Boaldin expressed the need to expend some money for marketing. Later in the meeting, Martie Floyd reiterated the necessity for this. It was decided that the local economic development groups in each county could help with marketing. They will be invited to the next meeting.


            Travel expenses were discussed. The Grant County clerk explained that Grant County paid air travel expenses for Pinegar & Smith but she would bill the other counties for their fourth of the charges. In the future, Pinegar & Smith will bill each county for their share of expenses. The decision was made that each county would pay for their commissioner’s expenses.  Marty Long made the motion that each county deposit $2500 into the designated bank account to establish a fund for incidental expenses. Motion was seconded and passed unanimously.


            Martie Floyd made the motion to hire Hay, Rice & Associates as auditor for the records of the organization. Motion was seconded and passed unanimously.


            Dave Bozone made the motion that mileage be paid at the same rate as allowed by the state when using a personal vehicle for organization business. Motion was seconded and passed unanimously.


            It was decided that the official newspaper would be the official newspaper in each county.


            Discussion was held on a budget for the organization. Bob Boaldin said that at the end of this year they would have a better idea of budget needs.


            John Pinegar was called. He will check on bonding and liability insurance for officers of the organization. He will also see what is necessary regarding a tax identification number for the organization.


            Some discussion was held on traveling to Topeka for County Government Day and the KLPG Reception for legislators. Mr. Pinegar said House Bill 2434 was introduced and he was hoping that testimony could be given by commissioners and other interested parties during the time everyone is in Topeka.


            The commissioners adjourned to meet again in regular session on February 20, 2007.


Linda McHenry, County Clerk                                      Marty Long, Chairman