View Other Items in this Archive | View All Archives | Printable Version

C20110802                                                                                                                August 2, 2011


The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:00 am with Chairman Linda McHenry, Commissioner Marty Long and the County Clerk present.  Commissioner Carl Higgs was absent due to another commitment.


The monthly department head meeting was held with the following in attendance:  DeDe Lane, Purchasing Agent, Kristy Frazee, Health Department Administrator; Randy McCauley, Road Department Administrator; Rita Gee, Treasurer; Mary K. Sullivan, Register of Deeds; John Crosby, Fire Chief; Richard Banes, City/County Inspector; JD Neufeld, Civic Center Manager; and Lance Babcock, Sheriff.  JD Neufeld led with the prayer and the Pledge of Allegiance.


                Marty Long made the motion to approve the Resolution as required in K.S.A. 79-2925b with respect to financing the 2012 annual budget for Grant County.  Linda McHenry seconded the motion and it passed.

                Marty Long and Linda McHenry selected Carl Higgs to be the Grant County voting delegate for the business meeting in November at the annual Kansas Association of Counties conference.  Marty Long will be 1st alternate voting delegate and Linda McHenry will be 2nd alternate voting delegate.


Marty Long made the motion to approve the minutes of the regular July 19 and special July 26, 2011 meetings, along with the claims against the various funds of the county.  Linda McHenry seconded the motion, and it passed.


Vivian Button, Emergency Management Secretary, met with commissioners to discuss a letter from the Kansas Department of Agriculture concerning a flood map for Grant County.  Grant County does not have a flood map at the present time.  Ms. Button will look into the benefit, if any, of having a flood map developed and return at a later date. 


The 2011 semi-annual program report for the Community Development Block Grant was reviewed and approved by commissioners.


Lance Babcock, Sheriff, demonstrated the electronic bracelet tracking device used for house arrest and explained the internal GPS system.  Sheriff Babcock has approval from Judge Alford and Judge Peterson to use the tracking bracelet and is getting forms approved by the County Attorney.  There will be a daily cost to be in the house arrest program and the fees will be used to pay expenses associated with the tracking devices.  Options to purchase additional tracking devices were discussed and Sheriff Babcock will look at his budget and also the county diversion fund.


Kristy Frazee, Health Department Administrator, met with commissioners to discuss the need for an additional Spanish translator and also a part time front desk secretary at the Health Department.  Ms. Frazee reported she was in contact with an employee already working for Grant County on a part time basis, and she has agreed to help translate during flu shot season.  Ms. Frazee asked permission to use DeDe Lane at the Health Department to fill in at the front desk.   It was the consensus of the commissioners to allow DeDe Lane to fill in at the Health Department as needed.


JD Neufeld, Civic Center Manager, asked how the commissioners would like to dispose of the old orange chairs that are broken.  Due to the condition of the chairs, the commissioners do not want them sold and would prefer that they be hauled to the landfill for disposal.  Mr. Neufeld reported some of the Civic Center rooms have damaged ceiling tiles that need replaced and requested this expense come out of another fund.  Commissioners agreed the insurance damage check was deposited into general fund and all the other expenses from water damage were taken from that fund, so this expense could also be taken from general fund.  Mr. Neufeld reported they are going to discontinue using the 4-H building while it is hot.  The air conditioning units need replaced and it is in his five year plan for 2012.


The commissioners adjourned at 10:45 am and will meet again in regular session on August 16, 2011 at 9:00 am.




___________________________                                        ____________________________

Sheila Brown, County Clerk                                                         Linda McHenry, Chairman