View Other Items in this Archive | View All Archives | Printable Version

            The Commissioners met in special session at 9:00 a.m. with all members and the County Clerk present.


            The meeting was called in order to meet with Randall Allen, Kansas Association of Counties Executive Director, and Ted Ensley, Kansas Association of Counties (KAC) President.


            Mr. Ensley stated that he implemented the plan for KAC Leadership to personally meet with all 105 counties over the next 10 years. The purpose for this is to get a better understanding of how KAC can help the counties and to encourage county elected officials and department heads to contact KAC whenever they have problems or suggestions. Grant County was selected as the first county to visit.


            The following elected officials and department heads attended the meeting: Douglas Campbell, County Attorney; Lance Babcock, Sheriff; Linda McHenry, County Clerk; Mary K. Sullivan, Register of Deeds; Rita Gee, Treasurer; Frank Goldsby, Public Works Administrator; Sherry Thompson, Health Department Administrator; Tom Kramer, Road Foreman; and Nancy Ramski, Civic Center Building and Grounds Manager. All officials and department heads actively participated in the meeting.


            Following the discussion, Chairman Higgs asked Mr. Allen and Mr. Ensley if they could recommend anything that could be done to improve our county. Mr. Allen stated that he was glad they had chosen to come to Grant County first. He said he thought Grant County could write the book on how a county should be run.


            The commissioners and Mr. Allen and Mr. Ensley made a quick tour of the Library, Park View, the Civic Center Complex, and Pioneer Communications. They drove by several other facilities before leaving for another county.


            The commissioners adjourned to meet again in regular session on June 1, 2004.



Linda McHenry, County Clerk                                  Carl Higgs, Chairman